Excellence in School Nursing Leadership

Current Award Recipient

Susan Haslebacher

Congratulations to the WVASN Excellence in School Nursing Leadership Recipient

The West Virginia Association of School Nurses established the Excellence in School Nursing Leadership Award to recognize an outstanding school nurse administrator who demonstrates excellence in administering and coordinating quality school nursing services and health programs. A school nurse administrator will be recognized once every four years starting with 2020 and coinciding with presidential election years.

WVASN is proud to recognize Susan Haslebacher as the first recipient of the Excellence in School Nursing Leadership Award! Susan has been lead nurse in Monongalia County for the last 12 years and supervises a team of 11 registered nurses and 2 practical nurses. Her career in school health began 19 years ago.

During this time, Susan has exhibited organization, spirit, consistency and ethics as she juggles the duties of Director of School Health and Homebound Services. Her colleagues describe her as “consistent, yet fair” and advocates for students to support learning and always errs on the side of the student. She is a professional who commands respect but ensures her coworkers and students respect themselves. Susan is recognized by her county as a budget-savvy administrator!

Susan has served the school nurses of West Virginia over the last nine years as a member of the WVASN Board. She has been on the planning committee for several state conferences and twice was a driving force for Monongalia to host the conference. WVASN members may not know Susan personally, but they can all recognize her as a hands on, hard worker, who gets the job done.

Susan loves spending time and traveling with her family including three lovely, grown and accomplished daughters. The family enjoys going on cruises, camping, kayaking, walking and relaxing in the outdoors. Quilting in the winter and enjoying her animals are other favorite past times.

Congratulations Susan on your accomplishments and thank you for your dedication to the students of Monongalia County.